About Us Flower Inner Banner
Distinguished Members

FCGC Honorary Members

Sally Foster

Carol Papas

Cris Scott

Bobbie Smith

Hannah Van Horn

Nancy Vincett

FCGC Fifty-Year Club Members

Dotty Beckwith

Marguerite Hannon, in memoriam

Lois Reuter

Mikell Schenk

Hannah Van Horn


FCGC Legacy Members

Ruthanne Bauerle

Dotty Beckwith

Cynthia Lackey

Donna McLaughlin

Sarah Pfefferle

Carolyn Sanford

Jolie Schroeder

Bobbie Smith

Weezie Walter

Susie Williams


Inspiration Award

The Fox Chapel Garden Club Inspiration Award was created in 2013 by Wendy Mitchell and Cris Scott to honor those members who inspire others by selflessly sharing their time and knowledge with our Fox Chapel Garden Club and their community.

2013 – Sally Foster

2015 - Marguerite Hannon

2017 - Rin Babson

             * * * * * * *

Affiliate Life Members

Garden Club Federation of Pennsylvania

Rin Babson
Sally Foster


National Garden Club, Inc.


Rin Babson
Fritz Mitnick

* * * * * * *

Phipps Garden Center Began with Prominent FCGC Members

Past Presidents of Phipps Garden Center

  • 1935-1937 Mrs. Harold Nomer
  • 1937-1953 Mrs. Augustus K. Oliver
  • 1953-1957 Mrs. Robert N. Austen

In 1933, the Fox Chapel Garden Club recognized a need for a centralized location to obtain and disseminate gardening information.  Mrs. Nomer and Mrs. Meyer, FCGC President 1931-1936, met with members of local garden clubs and city council to create the Pittsburgh Civic Garden Center.  From its beginning in 1935 until 1957, the Center had only three presidents – Mrs. Harold Nomer, Mrs. Augustus K. Oliver and Mrs. Robert Austen, all were FCGC members.

The Pittsburgh Civic Garden Center is now known as Phipps Garden Center.  It is one of the educational arms of Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens – responsible for training our community about horticulture, conservation, and floral design. 

We honor these visionary women for recognizing the need to promote the art and science of gardening.

* * * * * * *

Past Presidents

1931-36 Mrs. Albert Meyer
1936-38 Mrs. Harold Nomer
1938-40 Mrs. Flora Langenheim
1940-42 Mrs. Milton W. St. John
1942-44 Mrs. Edward J. McDonnell
1944-46 Mrs. Harold C. Meyer
1946-48 Mrs. Frank W. Succop
1948-50 Mrs. Ransom E. Somers
1950-52 Mrs. Harold L. Lang
1952-54 Mrs. Robert N. Austen
1954-56 Mrs. Charles T. Siebert, Jr.
1956-58 Mrs. Robert F. Edgar
1958-60 Mrs. Walter Toole
1960-62 Mrs. Richard H. Boyles
1962-64 Mrs. Alvin S. Riley
1964-66 Mrs. William G. Watson
1966-68 Mrs. Charles N. Fisher
1968-70 Mrs. Randle Brereton
1970-72 Mrs. Franklin D. Hoffman
1972-74 Mrs. I. Paul Glaser-Skalny
1974-76 Mrs. C. Talbott Hiteshew, Jr.
1976-78 Mrs. Henning Karlby
1978-80 Mrs. Merle E. Minks
1980-82 Mrs. James H. Worley, Jr.
1982-84 Mrs. Neil Y. Van Horn
1984-86 Mrs. John A. Byerly, Jr.
1986-88 Mrs. John W. Hannon
1988-90 Mrs. George F. Huff
1990-92 Mrs. John T. Hoover
1992-94 Mrs. James S. Pasman, Jr.
1994-96 Mrs. Walter A. Scott, III
1996-98 Mrs. D. Donald Foster, Jr.
1998-00 Mrs. William K. Vincett
2000-02 Mrs. Robert W. Kampmeinert
2002-04 Mrs. James F. Bauerle
2004-06 Mrs. Fritz Mitnick
2006-08 Mrs. Cece Miller
2008-10 Mrs. Corrine Babson
2010-12 Mrs. Carol Papas
2012-14 Mrs. Wendy Mitchell
2014-16 Mrs. Christine Bennett
2016-18 Mrs. Barbara Laswell

2018-20 Mrs. Susanna Hegnes

2020-22 Mrs. Robin Felton Baum

2022-23 Mrs. Christine Bennett and Mrs. Susanna Hegnes

2023-     Mrs. Karel Ulizio

* * * * * * *

Honorary Members in Memoriam

“If I had a flower for every time I thought of you…I could walk through my garden forever.”  Alfred Tennyson


Mrs. John F. Andrews
Mrs. Robert N. Austen
Mrs. Richard H. Boyles
Mrs. John A. Byerly, Jr.
Mrs. Robert F. Edgar
Mrs. Richard Follansbee
Mrs. Mary L. Gott
Mrs. Charles L. Griswold

Mrs. Marguerite Hannon
Mrs. Nancy Hoover
Mrs. George F. Huff
Mrs. John E. Jackson
Mrs. Hugo C. Johnson, Jr.
Mrs. Kendell F. Jones
Mrs. Hanne Karlby
Miss Flora E. Langenheim
Miss Gertrude Langenheim
Mrs. John W. Lawrence
Mrs. Jean Marshall
Mrs. Edward J. McDonnell
Mrs. James B. McKillips
Mrs. William A. Messer
Mrs. Albert P. Meyer
Mrs. Harold A. Nomer
Mrs. Augustus K. Oliver
Mrs. Jane Pasman
Mrs. J. Lewis Scott (Ruth)
Mrs. Kathy Toole

Mrs. Elizabeth Worley
Mrs. John C. Zimmerman